Skip to main content


Upcoming Events

VromansFUNDRAISER - Sunday 12/15 - Saturday 12/21  20% of your in store sales will go to Rockdale!  You must present a voucher at the time of purchase. (voucher can be downloaded from the link below)

NEXT PTA ASSOCIATION MEETING IN 2020 - Wednesday, January 22nd in the Teachers' Lounge

About Rockdale's PTA

The Rockdale Parent-Teacher Association (PTA) was established in 1913 and continues to support the school through advocacy and fundraising. You can make a difference by getting involved.  You do NOT need to attend meetings to be a part of the PTA. Volunteering and donations of any kind go a long way! 

Our meetings are every 3rd Wednesday in the teacher's lounge.  For more information email us at or find our Facebook group - Rockdale VAPA.  

Fundraising for the Arts

Although LAUSD is recognizing Rockdale’s exceptional art programming with our fairly new Magnet status, our arts curriculum is still not fully funded by the school district. Most of the wonderful arts curriculum at Rockdale – including part of theater and dance– is funded by the PTA.  

Some of the programs we fund are:

  • LA Opera performances at the school
  • FocusFish dance and movement
  • School Garden Foundation
  • Vocal Teacher
  • Drama Teacher
ANNUAL Fundraisers

  • Fall Festival- Every year before Halloween Rockdale's PTA puts on our very own October Fest at the school.  There are games, concessions and even a Haunted House.  It is fun for the whole family!
  • Family Movie Night - One of the children's favorite events!  A FREE movie viewing in the MPR with snacks for sale. 
  • Spare Change- A collection of everyone's loose change.  Each classroom competes for the most change.  The winner gets a pizza party.
  • Read-A-Thon- This annual fundraiser is a great way encourage your child to read and an easy way to generate funds for Rockdale's art programs.  It is also our most successful fundraiser.
Annual Giving Campaign
Annual Giving Campaign

annual fund image

The Annual Giving Campaign will bridge the gap between the basic, minimum funding provided by LAUSD and the essential 21st century academic programs and arts instruction that help promote a successful learning environment at Rockdale. Simply put, public funding alone does not provide for enrichment programs, nor does it guarantee academic excellence for our children. That’s why we need the Annual Giving Campaign.

Help us raise funds for our public school by donating to the Annual Giving Campaign. You can contribute your donation all at once or via a monthly contribution. The donation is 100% tax deductible. We offer different levels of donations. Please give generously. Every single dollar counts!

2019-2020 PTA Officers


  • ​​​​​​​President - Christina Havholm
  • Vice President - Rocio Rivas
  • Treasurer(s) - Sarah North & Michelle Meier
  • Secretary - Nicole White
  • Parliamentarian - Sara Acharya
  • Communications - Athena MacFarland